About

Welcome

Welcome to the Center for Social Concerns, an interdisciplinary institute dedicated to justice education and research for the common good with communities near and far.


For more than four decades center faculty, students, and partners have worked to affirm and ensure the dignity and wellbeing of all people—especially the marginalized—and to promote flourishing communities both locally and globally through a mix of moral inquiry and action.

Catholic social tradition (CST) is our abiding touchstone as we work to tackle the world’s most pressing social concerns from sustainability to racial injustice to housing inequality to food insecurity. CST is a call to action for all who aspire to a more just world. It offers a way of seeing, being, and doing that engages moral imagination, inspires moral courage, and implores moral action. Join us as we partner to tackle the world’s most intractable social problems in solidarity with those most impacted.

Suzanne Shanahan, Ph.D.

Leo and Arlene Hawk Executive Director, Center for Social Concerns

View All Events

Upcoming Events

February 2023

10
Unlocked: "Why Attica Matters"
Friday, February 10, 2023 - 4:00pm
13
Virtues and Vocations with Margaret Plews-Ogan: "Wisdom and Medicine"
Monday, February 13, 2023 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm
17
Lives Worth Taking? The Death Penalty in the US
Friday, February 17, 2023 - 4:00pm
20
Social Concerns Fair | Housing
Monday, February 20, 2023 - 4:30pm to 6:30pm
24
Labor Café | The Guest Worker Question
Friday, February 24, 2023 - 5:00pm
28
Application Deadline | Summer Labor Fellowships
Tuesday, February 28, 2023 - 12:00am to 11:45pm

March 2023

03
Signs of the Times | Hope for Health Equity
Friday, March 3, 2023 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm
06
Social Concerns Fair | Healthcare and Disability
Monday, March 6, 2023 - 4:30pm to 6:30pm
20
Social Concerns Fair | Food Security
Monday, March 20, 2023 - 4:30pm to 6:30pm
23
2023 CST Conference: Justice Sown in Peace
Thursday, March 23, 2023 - 7:00pm to Saturday, March 25, 2023 - 1:00pm
31
Labor Café
Friday, March 31, 2023 - 5:00pm

April 2023

03
Social Concerns Fair | Immigration and Human Rights
Monday, April 3, 2023 - 4:30pm to 6:30pm
28
Labor Café
Friday, April 28, 2023 - 5:00pm

May 2023