Signs of the Times #14: Community Health Care in Pursuit of the Common Good ft. Dr. James Gingerich, MD

Dr. James Gingerich is a family medicine doctor in Goshen, Indiana. James says he didn't go to medical school to become a doctor, he went because he is passionate about community development and wanted to open an affordable health care center in Goshen that would build bridges across cultures. The Maple City Health Care Center fulfills the triple aim in health care of being high quality, low cost, and having high patient satisfaction, they are leading the state and in some cases the nation on all of these measures. But James says they're not after the triple aim, he says the vision is to create a space where people engage with each other, come out of isolation and fragmentation and into shared space as a community and the result is they become healthier. The key ingredients to their success are eliminating a mentality of scarcity for patients and staff, fostering imagination, and bringing people together around story and food.

View All Events

Upcoming Events

October 2022

10
Virtues and Vocations: "Beauty at Work"
Monday, October 10, 2022 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm
28
Labor Café
Friday, October 28, 2022 - 5:00pm to 6:00pm

November 2022

02
Information Session | NDBridge
Wednesday, November 2, 2022 - 5:00pm to 6:00pm
07
Virtues and Vocations: "Kindness, Compassion, & Medicine"
Monday, November 7, 2022 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm
09
Annual Bernie Clark, C.S.C., Lecture featuring Clint Smith
Wednesday, November 9, 2022 - 5:00pm
13
Catholic Social Tradition Minor - Information Brunch
Sunday, November 13, 2022 - 11:30am to 1:00pm
17
Arts of Dignity | An Evening with Ericka Huggins
Thursday, November 17, 2022 - 5:30pm
18
MVP Fridays | How do we find the truth?
Friday, November 18, 2022 - 4:00pm
30
Proposal Deadline: 2023 CST Conference
Wednesday, November 30, 2022 - 12:00am to 11:45pm

December 2022

02
Labor Café
Friday, December 2, 2022 - 5:00pm to 6:00pm
05
Virtues and Vocations with Anika Prather: "Education and Liberation"
Monday, December 5, 2022 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm

February 2023

03

March 2023

03
Signs of the Times
Friday, March 3, 2023 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm
23
2023 CST Conference: Justice Sown in Peace
Thursday, March 23, 2023 - 12:00am to Saturday, March 25, 2023 - 11:45pm