Signs of the Times #10: Human Dignity, Refugees, and People on the Move ft. Clemens Sedmak, Ph.D.

Clemens Sedmak, Ph.D. joins us on the Signs of the Times podcast today to discuss a question he's been wrestling with, "what is the relationship between human dignity, Christianity, and the refugee crisis around the world?" Clemens shares his experience of returning to his home city of Salzburg, Austria in September, 2015 and being overwhelmed by the sheer number of refugees and migrants. This prompted his exploration into the division within the Catholic Church over its response to the migrant and refugee crisis and led to his research with the Humanitarian Corridor Initiative, a project of the Ford Program in Human Development Studies and Solidarity. He discusses a model of accompaniment as a means to integrate refugees into a new city as well as the pitfalls of the phenomenon they call over-accompaniment.

View All Events

Upcoming Events

October 2019

29
Information Session: Urban Plunge 2020
Tuesday, October 29, 2019 - 4:00pm
30
Information Session: Urban Plunge 2020
Wednesday, October 30, 2019 - 4:00pm
30
Information Session: ISSLP 2020
Wednesday, October 30, 2019 - 8:00pm
31
Information Session: Urban Plunge 2020
Thursday, October 31, 2019 - 4:00pm

November 2019

01
Application Open: SSLP 2020
Friday, November 1, 2019 (All day)
01
Information Session: CGI Jerusalem 2020
Friday, November 1, 2019 - 11:00am to 11:45am
03
Application Close: ISSLP 2020
Sunday, November 3, 2019 (All day)
03
Film CLASSics - Norma Rae
Sunday, November 3, 2019 - 3:00pm
06
Information Session: SSLP 2020
Wednesday, November 6, 2019 - 6:00pm
07
07
Information Session: SSLP 2020
Thursday, November 7, 2019 - 6:00pm
13
Storytelling for Change
Wednesday, November 13, 2019 - 5:30pm to 7:00pm
14
Open Wide our Hearts Brown Bag Lunch Discussion
Thursday, November 14, 2019 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm
15
Labor RAPS | The Just Wage Initiative: Unveiling an Online Tool
Friday, November 15, 2019 - 12:00pm to 1:30pm
17
ISSLP Interview Day
Sunday, November 17, 2019 (All day)

December 2019

01
Deadline: Romero Days 2020 Paper Proposal
Sunday, December 1, 2019 - 11:45pm
04
Dialogue and Listening toward Community Building
Wednesday, December 4, 2019 - 5:30pm to 7:00pm