Higgins Labor Program

The Higgins Labor Program (HLP) is an interdisciplinary unit of the Center for Social Concerns (CSC) sponsoring research, education, and community engagement on issues involving work, labor organization, and social justice.

Informed by the Catholic Social Tradition’s commitment to the dignity of work and the rights of workers, and inspired by the University of Notre Dame’s mission to foster amongst its students “a sense of human solidarity and concern for the common good,” the Higgins Labor Program emphasizes initiatives “that will bear fruit as learning becomes service to justice."

The work of the Higgins Labor Program is where understanding becomes responsibility on "the labor question" confronting all human societies: Who does the work, what are the rules, and who gets the fruits?

Subscribe to the Higgins Labor Program's occasional e-newsletter here, which will include updates on the Just Wage Framework and Tool.

 

Calendar

Event Date
Higgins Lunchtime Labor RAPS 02/01/2019 - 12:30pm to 1:30pm
Labor Café 02/22/2019 - 5:00pm to 6:00pm
Higgins Lunchtime Labor RAPS 03/01/2019 - 12:30pm to 1:30pm
Labor Café 03/29/2019 - 5:00pm to 6:00pm
Higgins Lunchtime Labor RAPS 04/12/2019 - 12:30pm to 1:30pm
Labor Café 04/26/2019 - 5:00pm to 6:00pm
View All Events

Upcoming Events

January 2019

23
2019 Social Concerns Fair
Wednesday, January 23, 2019 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm

February 2019

01
Higgins Lunchtime Labor RAPS
Friday, February 1, 2019 - 12:30pm to 1:30pm
22
Labor Café
Friday, February 22, 2019 - 5:00pm to 6:00pm

March 2019

01
Higgins Lunchtime Labor RAPS
Friday, March 1, 2019 - 12:30pm to 1:30pm
21
Pre-Conference Workshop: Restorative Justice on Catholic Campuses
Thursday, March 21, 2019 - 12:30pm to 4:00pm
21
2019 Catholic Social Tradition Conference
Thursday, March 21, 2019 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm
22
2019 Catholic Social Tradition Conference
Friday, March 22, 2019 - 7:30am to 9:30pm
23
2019 Catholic Social Tradition Conference
Saturday, March 23, 2019 - 8:00am to 4:30pm
29
Labor Café
Friday, March 29, 2019 - 5:00pm to 6:00pm

April 2019

05
Been & Seen Series
Friday, April 5, 2019 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm
12
Higgins Lunchtime Labor RAPS
Friday, April 12, 2019 - 12:30pm to 1:30pm
26
Labor Café
Friday, April 26, 2019 - 5:00pm to 6:00pm

June 2019

04
Community Engagement Faculty Institute
Tuesday, June 4, 2019 (All day) to Thursday, June 6, 2019 (All day)