The Higgins Labor Program (HLP) is an interdisciplinary unit of the Center for Social Concerns sponsoring research, education, and community engagement on issues involving work -- from organization (who does what work?) to representation (what are the rules?) to distribution (how are the fruits of work allocated?). Learn more about our mission, history, and staff, and stay in touch by receiving our newsletter.

Newsletter Signup

Just Wage Initiative

What makes any given wage just or unjust? An interdisciplinary group of scholars and students from Notre Dame has developed a Just Wage Framework & Tool to probe this foundational question. Designed to engage stakeholders from across the spectrum, this interactive initiative promotes discernment, dialogue, and deeds pointing toward a fairer, more inclusive economy.

View The Framework & USE the Tool 

View All Events

Upcoming Events

February 2020

19
Engaged Learning Forum | Community-Based Learning from the Inside Out
Wednesday, February 19, 2020 - 12:00pm to 1:30pm
20
Postgraduate Service | Precious Blood Volunteers Information Session
Thursday, February 20, 2020 - 9:00am to 10:30am
21
Development on the move: Global strategies informed by local contexts
Friday, February 21, 2020 (All day) to Saturday, February 22, 2020 (All day)
28
Labor Café | Teachers' Strikes, Racial Justice, and the Common Good
Friday, February 28, 2020 - 5:00pm to 6:00pm

March 2020

04
Ethical development and life in/beyond higher education
Wednesday, March 4, 2020 - 3:30pm to 5:00pm
06
Deadline | Rev. Robert S. Pelton, CSC Memorial Essay Contest
Friday, March 6, 2020 (All day) to Tuesday, March 24, 2020 (All day)
19
Engaged Learning Forum | Spanish CBL @ Ten!
Thursday, March 19, 2020 - 8:15am to 9:45am
19
Just Wage Forum | Reception and Public Launch of the Just Wage Tool
Thursday, March 19, 2020 - 5:00pm to 7:00pm
20
Just Wage Forum
Friday, March 20, 2020 (All day)
23
24
27
27
Labor Café
Friday, March 27, 2020 - 5:00pm to 6:30pm

April 2020

24
Labor Café
Friday, April 24, 2020 - 5:00pm to 6:00pm