Higgins Labor Program

The Higgins Labor Program is an interdisciplinary unit of the Center for Social Concerns sponsoring research, education, and community engagement on issues involving work, labor organization, and social justice.

Informed by the Catholic social tradition’s commitment to the dignity of work and the rights of workers, and inspired by the University of Notre Dame’s mission to foster amongst its students “a sense of human solidarity and concern for the common good,” the Higgins Labor Program emphasizes initiatives “that will bear fruit as learning becomes service to justice."

The work of the Higgins Labor Program is where understanding becomes responsibility on "the labor question" confronting all human societies: Who does the work, what are the rules, and who gets the fruits?

SUBSCRIBE TO THE HIGGIN'S LABOR PROGRAM E-NEWSLETTER

 

SPECIAL LUNCHTIME EVENT:

Wednesday, September 18, 12:30 pm, Geddes Hall Coffee House

The International Labour Organization: Promoting Labor Standards, Workers’ Rights, & Gender Equality Around the Globe

featuring Kevin Cassidy, Director, International Labour Organization Office for the United States

Join us for a presentation on the efforts of the International Labour Organization, the only tripartite U.N. agency, which brings together governments, employers, and workers of 187 countries to set labor standards, develop policies, and devise programs promoting decent work for all women and men.

Lunch provided to those who RSVP

Calendar

View All Events

Upcoming Events

September 2019

16
Application Open: ISSLP 2020
Monday, September 16, 2019 (All day)
17
Information Session: ISSLP 2020
Tuesday, September 17, 2019 - 8:00pm
19
Peace Corps Application Workshop and Information Session
Thursday, September 19, 2019 - 11:30am
19
Community-University Partnerships: Fostering Knowledge for Social Change
Thursday, September 19, 2019 - 12:00pm to 1:30pm
23
Information Session: ISSLP 2020
Monday, September 23, 2019 - 7:00pm

October 2019

02
Information Session: ISSLP 2020
Wednesday, October 2, 2019 - 7:00pm
04
Higgins Labor Café
Friday, October 4, 2019 - 5:00pm
08
Postgraduate Service & Social Impact Fair
Tuesday, October 8, 2019 - 5:00pm to 8:00pm
10
Open Wide our Hearts Brown Bag Lunch Discussions
Thursday, October 10, 2019 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm
10
Information Session: ISSLP 2020
Thursday, October 10, 2019 - 7:00pm
13
Information Session: ISSLP 2020
Sunday, October 13, 2019 - 7:00pm
30
Information Session: ISSLP 2020
Wednesday, October 30, 2019 - 8:00pm

November 2019

01
Higgins Labor Café
Friday, November 1, 2019 - 5:00pm
03
Application Close: ISSLP 2020
Sunday, November 3, 2019 (All day)
03
Film CLASSics - Norma Rae
Sunday, November 3, 2019 - 3:00pm
14
Open Wide our Hearts Brown Bag Lunch Discussion
Thursday, November 14, 2019 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm
17
ISSLP Interview Day
Sunday, November 17, 2019 (All day)

December 2019

06
Higgins Labor Café
Friday, December 6, 2019 - 5:00pm