Common Good Initiative

The center offers engaged scholarship opportunities for graduate students by facilitating collaboration with local community partners and agencies worldwide to create engaged teaching, learning, research, and service opportunities. Through the center, graduate and professional students take courses and attend workshops, teach undergraduates, and secure funding for research. The goal is to integrate engagement, outreach, and public scholarship opportunities with students' disciplinary expertise. The center’s home, Geddes Hall, also offers graduate students space to study or meet as a group.

Graduate Justice Fellowship 

The Center for Social Concerns has launched a new graduate fellowship program designed to engage graduate students from around the University and from any disciplinary perspective on questions of justice. In August the center selected 14 Graduate Justice Fellows from three colleges, two schools, and 11 departments around the University.

LEARN MORE

 

Graduate Student Institute for Engaged Research and Teaching (October 17–19)

Designed for graduate students in all fields at all levels who want to apply their disciplinary approach and tools to questions of justice. The institute will introduce graduate students to principles and effective models of public scholarship and community engagement. 

learn more

 

 

 

View All Events

Upcoming Events

February 2023

03
Signs of the Times | Justice Hope through Our Lens
Friday, February 3, 2023 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm
10
Unlocked: "Why Attica Matters"
Friday, February 10, 2023 - 4:00pm
13
Virtues and Vocations with Margaret Plews-Ogan: "Wisdom and Medicine"
Monday, February 13, 2023 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm
17
Lives Worth Taking: The Death Penalty in the US
Friday, February 17, 2023 - 4:00pm
20
Social Concerns Fair | Housing
Monday, February 20, 2023 - 4:30pm to 6:30pm
24
Labor Café | The Guest Worker Question
Friday, February 24, 2023 - 5:00pm

March 2023

03
Signs of the Times | Hope for Health Equity
Friday, March 3, 2023 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm
06
Social Concerns Fair | Healthcare and Disability
Monday, March 6, 2023 - 4:30pm to 6:30pm
20
Social Concerns Fair | Food Security
Monday, March 20, 2023 - 4:30pm to 6:30pm
23
2023 CST Conference: Justice Sown in Peace
Thursday, March 23, 2023 - 7:00pm to Saturday, March 25, 2023 - 1:00pm
31
Labor Café
Friday, March 31, 2023 - 5:00pm

April 2023

03
Social Concerns Fair | Immigration and Human Rights
Monday, April 3, 2023 - 4:30pm to 6:30pm
28
Labor Café
Friday, April 28, 2023 - 5:00pm