Writers@Work

Writers@Work: Where the Work in Question Involves Questions about Work

The Higgins Labor Program's Writers@Work offers writers of all sorts -- social scientists, poets, historians, novelists, bloggers, etc. -- the opportunity to share their unpublished work for constructive criticism. We convene whenever a member of the diverse Higgins constituency has something to workshop. Papers are pre-circulated to enhance the quality of feedback, and participation is by invitation only. Those interested in joining may email Dan Graff, Director of the Higgins Labor Program.

In Spring 2018, we workshopped the following:

Paul Ocobock, Assistant Professor of History, a chapter from his manuscript on the production and politics of coffee in Kenya

Annie Gilbert Coleman, Associate Professor of American Studies, a chapter from her forthcoming book, Making American Wilderness: A History of Outdoor Guides and their Work

We will resume Writers@Work in the fall 2018 semester. Stay tuned.

View All Events

Upcoming Events

March 2019

23
2019 Catholic Social Tradition Conference
Saturday, March 23, 2019 - 8:00am to 4:30pm
26
Documentary Film: Los niños de María
Tuesday, March 26, 2019 - 7:30pm
27
Puerto Rico Faculty Seminar Panel
Wednesday, March 27, 2019 - 11:00am to 12:30pm
29
Labor Café
Friday, March 29, 2019 - 5:00pm to 6:00pm

April 2019

03
Film Screening: Icebox
Wednesday, April 3, 2019 - 5:00pm
03
Postgraduate Service: AmeriCorps Panel
Wednesday, April 3, 2019 - 5:30pm
05
Been & Seen Series: Listening to Uganda
Friday, April 5, 2019 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm
12
Higgins Lunchtime Labor RAPS
Friday, April 12, 2019 - 12:30pm to 1:30pm
26
Labor Café
Friday, April 26, 2019 - 5:00pm to 6:00pm
28

May 2019

18
2019 Service Send-Off Ceremony
Saturday, May 18, 2019 - 1:30pm to 2:00pm

June 2019

04
Community Engagement Faculty Institute
Tuesday, June 4, 2019 (All day) to Thursday, June 6, 2019 (All day)