Past Craypo Memorial Series


Inaugural Speakers:

Nelson Lichtenstein is Professor of History at the University of California at Santa Barbara. He is the author of many books, including The Retain Revolution: How Wal-Mart Created a Brave New World of Business.

 Dan Schlademan is the Campaign Director of Making Change at Walmart, a project of the United Food & Commercial Workers.

 

Fall 2018: Food, Work, & Power in the USA


History@Work Lecture: "Politics of the Pantry: Housewives, Food, and Consumer Protest in Twentieth Century America"
Monday | October 29 | 5:30 PM | Geddes Hall, Andrews Auditorium
Emily Twarog, Associate professor of History and Labor Studies at the University of Illinois 
Cosponsored by the Department of History, Gender Studies, and American Studies 
 
FILM CLASSics: Big Night (Campbell Scott, Stanley Tucci, 1996)

Sunday | November 11 | 3:00 PM | DeBartolo Performing Arts Center (Browning Cinema)

Cosponsored by the Department of Romance Languages & Literatures and the Nanovic Institute for European Studies.

 

Labor Café: Quick Grub Nation: Americans' Relationship to Food -- as Workers, Consumers, and Eaters
Friday | November 16, 2018 | 5-6 PM | Geddes Hall, Coffee House
Facilitator: Maria "Ale" Orellana Muniz (POLS '20) 
Resources to get the conversation started: 
 
History Alumni Network

Wednesday | November 28 | 5:30 PM | Geddes Hall Coffee House

Melody Gonzalez (ND POLS '05) and Lucas Benitez, from the Coalition for Immokalee Workers, addressed the Fair Food Program to an overflowing gathering of students, faculty, staff, and community members. Ms. Gonzalez also visited classes and recorded a session of the Center for Social Concerns podcast, "Signs of the Times."

 

View All Events

Upcoming Events

January 2022

18
Literally, Black@ND
Tuesday, January 18, 2022 - 7:00pm
20
Social Concerns Fair 2022
Thursday, January 20, 2022 - 5:00pm to 7:00pm
25
Virtual Postgraduate Service Fair
Tuesday, January 25, 2022 - 5:00pm to 7:00pm
26
Virtual Postgraduate Service Fair
Wednesday, January 26, 2022 - 5:00pm to 7:00pm
28
Labor Café First Friday
Friday, January 28, 2022 - 5:00pm to 6:00pm
31
Virtues and Vocations presents Mary Gentile: Giving Voice to Values
Monday, January 31, 2022 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm

February 2022

01
Application Close | SSLP 2022
Tuesday, February 1, 2022 - 12:00am to 11:45pm
04
Signs of the Times Brown Bag Lunch Series | Education
Friday, February 4, 2022 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm
14
Proposal Deadline | Community Impact Grants
Monday, February 14, 2022 - 4:30pm

March 2022

16
Catholic Social Tradition Minor Open House & Info Session
Wednesday, March 16, 2022 - 6:00pm to 7:00pm