News

On this Labor Day, advocating for just wages means fighting company theft

September 10, 2021

Defining a just wage is a complex task. The definition must go beyond wage amount and include things like wage theft, not paying workers  what they're legally due. This can take the form of misclassifying workers or avoiding overtime pay. A recent article in National Catholic Reporter, "On this Labor Day, advocating for just wages means fighting company theft," considers how faith organizations need to be aware of wage theft and fight against through advocacy and financial decisionmaing. Dan Graff, Ph.D., director of the Higgins Labor Program, noted that this is particularly true in the absense of unions. 

"It's especially important for faith communities to address such basic concerns now because of the lack of enforcement and the decline of unions, which traditionally protected workers' rights, Graff added. 'There's a real absence. Moral communities are going to have to fill in.'"

View All Events

Upcoming Events

September 2021

26
Information Session | ISSLP 2022 (In-Person and Virtual)
Sunday, September 26, 2021 - 7:00pm to 8:00pm

October 2021

01
Signs of the Times Brown Bag Lunch Series | Refugees
Friday, October 1, 2021 - 12:00pm
04
Information Session | ISSLP 2022 (In-Person Only)
Monday, October 4, 2021 - 7:00pm to 8:00pm
05
What to do with my Ph.D.? Community Engagement Career Paths
Tuesday, October 5, 2021 - 3:30pm to 5:00pm
05
Cry of the Earth, Cry of the Poor
Tuesday, October 5, 2021 - 7:00pm
07
The Social
Thursday, October 7, 2021 - 4:30pm to 5:30pm
12
Information Session | Catholic Social Tradition Minor
Tuesday, October 12, 2021 - 6:30pm
13
Information Session | ISSLP 2022 (In-Person and Virtual)
Wednesday, October 13, 2021 - 7:00pm to 8:00pm
25
Application Close | ISSLP 2022
Monday, October 25, 2021 - 12:00am to 11:45pm

November 2021

05
05
Labor Café First Friday
Friday, November 5, 2021 - 5:00pm to 6:00pm
12
Dignity and Justice Workshop
Friday, November 12, 2021 - 10:00am to 1:00pm
14
Higgins Labor CLASSics | Blue Collar (1978)
Sunday, November 14, 2021 - 3:00pm

December 2021

03
Signs of the Times Brown Bag Lunch Series | Housing
Friday, December 3, 2021 - 12:00pm
03
Labor Café First Friday
Friday, December 3, 2021 - 5:00pm to 6:00pm