News

Center response to family separations at US/Mexico border

By: JP Shortall

June 20, 2018

Formed by Catholic social teaching and especially inspired by the welcome and healing ministries of St. Teresa of Calcutta and St. André Bessette, C.S.C., the Center for Social Concerns lends its voice in support of Fr. Jenkins’ call that the Executive branch of the federal government cease its practice of separating children from their parents. As Pope Francis noted in his 2015 address to the U.S. Congress, we must respond to the refugee crisis “in a way which is always humane, just, and fraternal.”'

What can we do? (suggestions from Fr. James Martin, S.J.)

Visit the Vatican's Migrant and Refugee page 
Visit the US Conference of Catholic Bishops Migration and Refugee Services
Visit the pages for the Jesuit Refugee Service/InternationalJRS/USA, and the Kino Border Initiative

Help organizations, financially, who are helping the migrants now, including:

Catholic Charities/USA
Catholic Charities of the Rio Grande Valley
Kino Border Initiative (a Jesuit ministry) 
Catholic Legal Immigration Network (CLINIC), Legal help is very important right now, particularly for asylum seekers.
You can also read and sign the Advocacy Action Alert on Family Separation.
 

View All Events

Upcoming Events

February 2019

20
Postgraduate Service Organization Campus Visit: Precious Blood Volunteers
Wednesday, February 20, 2019 - 1:00pm to 4:00pm
20
Pizza, Pop, & Politics: Politics of Sport
Wednesday, February 20, 2019 - 5:00pm
20
Postgraduate Service Organization Campus Visit: L'Arche Seattle
Wednesday, February 20, 2019 - 5:00pm to 6:00pm
20
Show Some Skin: Drop the Wall
Wednesday, February 20, 2019 - 7:00pm to Saturday, February 23, 2019 - 7:00pm
21
Workshop: Ethics, Community Engagement, and Higher Education
Thursday, February 21, 2019 - 3:30pm to 5:00pm
22
2019 Human Development Conference
Friday, February 22, 2019 (All day) to Saturday, February 23, 2019 (All day)
22
Labor Café
Friday, February 22, 2019 - 5:00pm to 6:00pm

March 2019

01
Higgins Lunchtime Labor RAPS
Friday, March 1, 2019 - 12:30pm to 1:30pm
04
Information Session: McNeill Leadership Fellows Program
Monday, March 4, 2019 - 3:30pm to 4:30pm
06
Pizza, Pop, & Politics: Politics of Place
Wednesday, March 6, 2019 - 5:00pm
21
Pre-Conference Workshop: Restorative Justice on Catholic Campuses
Thursday, March 21, 2019 - 12:30pm to 4:00pm
21
2019 Catholic Social Tradition Conference
Thursday, March 21, 2019 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm
22
2019 Catholic Social Tradition Conference
Friday, March 22, 2019 - 7:30am to 9:30pm
23
2019 Catholic Social Tradition Conference
Saturday, March 23, 2019 - 8:00am to 4:30pm
29
Labor Café
Friday, March 29, 2019 - 5:00pm to 6:00pm

April 2019

05
Been & Seen Series
Friday, April 5, 2019 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm
12
Higgins Lunchtime Labor RAPS
Friday, April 12, 2019 - 12:30pm to 1:30pm
26
Labor Café
Friday, April 26, 2019 - 5:00pm to 6:00pm
28

June 2019

04
Community Engagement Faculty Institute
Tuesday, June 4, 2019 (All day) to Thursday, June 6, 2019 (All day)