John T. Joyce Award

The Higgins Labor Program sponsors an annual contest for the John T. Joyce Award, which is given to the student who submits the best research paper, essay, poem, artwork or other intellectual product on work, workers' rights and/or broader questions of class and political economy.   

The award is named after supporter of the Higgins program and former President of the International Union of Bricklayers and Allied Craftsworkers, John T. Joyce, who attended Notre Dame in the 1950s.

The award winner receives a $200 cash award and a certificate of recognition.

2015 Award Winner

Sarah Neuberger, Political Science '16

Read Sarah's comments on her song.

2013 Award Winner

Kathleen Monahan, History '13

"Intelligent, Efficient, Industrious, Dishonest, and Dishonorable":  Conflicting Views of Working Women in the 1914 Chicago Waitress Strike

2012 Award Winner

Graduate Award
Ting Ni, Law, Evolution in China's Labor Rights:  An Empirical Look at the 2008 Labor Contract Law

2011 Award Winners

Graduate Award
Heath Carter, History Ph.D. candidate, Scab Ministers, Striking Saints:  Christianity and Class Conflict in 1894 Chicago 

Undergraduate Award
Maria Lynch, English 2012, The Evolution from Tillie Olsen to Today:  An Oral History and Comparison of Four Working Mothers

View All Events

Upcoming Events

January 2019

2019 Social Concerns Fair
Wednesday, January 23, 2019 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm

February 2019

Higgins Lunchtime Labor RAPS
Friday, February 1, 2019 - 12:30pm to 1:30pm
Labor Café
Friday, February 22, 2019 - 5:00pm to 6:00pm

March 2019

Higgins Lunchtime Labor RAPS
Friday, March 1, 2019 - 12:30pm to 1:30pm
Pre-Conference Workshop: Restorative Justice on Catholic Campuses
Thursday, March 21, 2019 - 12:30pm to 4:00pm
2019 Catholic Social Tradition Conference
Thursday, March 21, 2019 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm
2019 Catholic Social Tradition Conference
Friday, March 22, 2019 - 7:30am to 9:30pm
2019 Catholic Social Tradition Conference
Saturday, March 23, 2019 - 8:00am to 4:30pm
Labor Café
Friday, March 29, 2019 - 5:00pm to 6:00pm

April 2019

Been & Seen Series
Friday, April 5, 2019 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm
Higgins Lunchtime Labor RAPS
Friday, April 12, 2019 - 12:30pm to 1:30pm
Labor Café
Friday, April 26, 2019 - 5:00pm to 6:00pm

June 2019

Community Engagement Faculty Institute
Tuesday, June 4, 2019 (All day) to Thursday, June 6, 2019 (All day)