Annual Rev. Bernie Clark, C.S.C. Lecture on Catholic Social Tradition

Wednesday, September 11, 2019 - 7:00pm

 

The annual Rev. Bernie Clark, C.S.C. lecture was created by the Center for Social Concerns in 2009 in order to highlight the issues and themes within the Catholic social tradition, and to inspire students to live out Fr. Bernie’s words of promoting social justice. This fall event honors Fr. Bernie who died young but influenced students with the life lesson of a “Theory of Enough.” Past speakers have been men and women influential upon the Catholic social tradition.

Topic:

Act Justly: Healing Racism Through Faith

Speaker:
Fr. Maurice Henry Sands is the Executive Director of the Black and Indian Mission Office in Washington, D.C., and a priest of the Archdiocese of Detroit. He is a member of the Ojibway, Ottawa and Potawatomi tribes, who are known together as Anishnaabe. He is from Bkejwanong First Nation, which is located on a beautiful island at the mouth of the St. Clair River - just north of Detroit, Michigan. Fr. Sands also serves as a consultant to the USCCB Subcommittee on Native American Affairs and as a consultant to the USCCB AD Hoc Committee Against Racism. 

Location:

Geddes Hall, Andrews Auditorium
 

Scheduled event for: 
Add to Calendar 09/11/2019 19:00:00 America/Indiana/Indianapolis Annual Rev. Bernie Clark, C.S.C. Lecture on Catholic Social Tradition   The annual Rev. Bernie Clark, C.S.C. https://socialconcerns.nd.edu/events/annual-rev-bernie-clark-csc-lecture-catholic-social-tradition-0
View All Events

Upcoming Events

September 2019

16
Application Open: ISSLP 2020
Monday, September 16, 2019 (All day)
17
Information Session: ISSLP 2020
Tuesday, September 17, 2019 - 8:00pm
19
Peace Corps Application Workshop and Information Session
Thursday, September 19, 2019 - 11:30am
19
Community-University Partnerships: Fostering Knowledge for Social Change
Thursday, September 19, 2019 - 12:00pm to 1:30pm
23
Information Session: ISSLP 2020
Monday, September 23, 2019 - 7:00pm

October 2019

02
Information Session: ISSLP 2020
Wednesday, October 2, 2019 - 7:00pm
04
Higgins Labor Café
Friday, October 4, 2019 - 5:00pm
08
Postgraduate Service & Social Impact Fair
Tuesday, October 8, 2019 - 5:00pm to 8:00pm
10
Open Wide our Hearts Brown Bag Lunch Discussions
Thursday, October 10, 2019 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm
10
Information Session: ISSLP 2020
Thursday, October 10, 2019 - 7:00pm
13
Information Session: ISSLP 2020
Sunday, October 13, 2019 - 7:00pm
30
Information Session: ISSLP 2020
Wednesday, October 30, 2019 - 8:00pm

November 2019

01
Higgins Labor Café
Friday, November 1, 2019 - 5:00pm
03
Application Close: ISSLP 2020
Sunday, November 3, 2019 (All day)
03
Film CLASSics - Norma Rae
Sunday, November 3, 2019 - 3:00pm
14
Open Wide our Hearts Brown Bag Lunch Discussion
Thursday, November 14, 2019 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm
17
ISSLP Interview Day
Sunday, November 17, 2019 (All day)

December 2019

06
Higgins Labor Café
Friday, December 6, 2019 - 5:00pm