William Purcell, M.Div.

Office Phone: 
574-631-9473
Office Address: 
228 Geddes Hall
Senior Associate Director, Operations; Associate Professor of the Practice; Catholic Social Tradition Minor, Co-Director

Bill Purcell has been the director of the Catholic Social Tradition at the Center for Social Concerns, as well as a faculty member at the University of Notre Dame, since the summer of 2005.  He oversees the integration of Catholic social thought into center courses and programming.

Bill also is a co-director of the interdisciplinary Catholic Social Tradition Minor at the University. He teaches community-based learning courses on poverty and various social issues. Bill acts as a liaison for the center with national Catholic institutions, which focus on justice education.

He is a recipient of the University’s Rev. William A. Toohey, C.S.C., Award for Social Justice. For six years Bill was the director of the Office for Peace and Justice at the Archdiocese of Chicago. Before going to Chicago in 1999, he spent three years as the education specialist for the Catholic Campaign for Human Development at the United States Catholic Conference of Bishops in Washington, D.C.  Bill received both his Bachelor’s and Master’s in Divinity at the University of Notre Dame. 

He has been published numerous times, and is on various local and national committees and boards for social justice issues. Bill is married to Angie, who works at Notre Dame International, and has three children.

View All Events

Upcoming Events

February 2023

10
Unlocked: "Why Attica Matters"
Friday, February 10, 2023 - 4:00pm
13
Virtues and Vocations with Margaret Plews-Ogan: "Wisdom and Medicine"
Monday, February 13, 2023 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm
17
Lives Worth Taking? The Death Penalty in the US
Friday, February 17, 2023 - 4:00pm
20
Social Concerns Fair | Housing
Monday, February 20, 2023 - 4:30pm to 6:30pm
24
Labor Café | The Guest Worker Question
Friday, February 24, 2023 - 5:00pm
28
Application Deadline | Summer Labor Fellowships
Tuesday, February 28, 2023 - 12:00am to 11:45pm

March 2023

03
Signs of the Times | Hope for Health Equity
Friday, March 3, 2023 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm
06
Social Concerns Fair | Healthcare and Disability
Monday, March 6, 2023 - 4:30pm to 6:30pm
20
Social Concerns Fair | Food Security
Monday, March 20, 2023 - 4:30pm to 6:30pm
23
2023 CST Conference: Justice Sown in Peace
Thursday, March 23, 2023 - 7:00pm to Saturday, March 25, 2023 - 1:00pm
31
Labor Café
Friday, March 31, 2023 - 5:00pm

April 2023

03
Social Concerns Fair | Immigration and Human Rights
Monday, April 3, 2023 - 4:30pm to 6:30pm
28
Labor Café
Friday, April 28, 2023 - 5:00pm

May 2023