Advocacy Education

Students who encounter injustice through service-learning and seminar immersions often return to campus asking how they should respond to what they have experienced. Advocacy education provides pathways and skills by which understanding becomes responsibility and students answer the call to be agents for justice.

Catholic Social Tradition (CST) often entails working for the transformation of unjust institutional structures. An important method for doing so involves examining existing policies and practices for how they affect community members’ welfare and their participation in defining and shaping the common good. We seek to equip our students with the skills necessary for challenging unjust policies and practices in clear and persuasive ways, and for seeking change in ways that help institutions better align themselves with the aims of justice. Following the CST principle of subsidiarity, we address particular needs in society at the most local level possible. The power to accomplish this work rests in the relationships that are cultivated.

 

View All Events

Upcoming Events

August 2019

26
Meet me at the CSC
Monday, August 26, 2019 - 4:30pm to 6:30pm
27
28

September 2019

16
Application Open: ISSLP 2020
Monday, September 16, 2019 (All day)
17
Information Session: ISSLP 2020
Tuesday, September 17, 2019 - 8:00pm
23
Information Session: ISSLP 2020
Monday, September 23, 2019 - 7:00pm

October 2019

02
Information Session: ISSLP 2020
Wednesday, October 2, 2019 - 7:00pm
08
Postgraduate Service & Social Impact Fair
Tuesday, October 8, 2019 - 5:00pm to 8:00pm
10
Information Session: ISSLP 2020
Thursday, October 10, 2019 - 7:00pm
13
Information Session: ISSLP 2020
Sunday, October 13, 2019 - 7:00pm
30
Information Session: ISSLP 2020
Wednesday, October 30, 2019 - 8:00pm

November 2019

03
Application Close: ISSLP 2020
Sunday, November 3, 2019 (All day)
17
ISSLP Interview Day
Sunday, November 17, 2019 (All day)