Center faculty member a finalist for 2017 regional language teacher of the year

By: Mary Goodwin

April 4, 2017

Chicago, IL—The Central States Conference on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (CSCTFL) recently honored Rachel Parroquín, Indiana Language Teacher of the Year, a professor of Spanish from the University of Notre Dame and a member of the Indiana Foreign Language Teachers Association (IFLTA). The award presentation was held during the Opening General Session of the 2017 CSCTFL Conference in Chicago, Illinois on March 10, 2017. At this ceremony, all of the state Teacher of the Year finalists from the fourteen state region were recognized.

The award for the Language Teacher of the Year is intended to elevate the status of the language teaching profession at the state, regional, and national levels by creating opportunities for recognizing the most accomplished members of the profession. The Teacher of the Year becomes a spokesperson for the language profession in order to increase the visibility of the importance of learning languages and cultures to the general public.

“CSCTFL is very proud of the impact that the Teacher of the Year Program has had in bringing local, regional and national attention to the importance of language education for all students.  It is an excellent example of collaboration in our field from the state to the regional to the national level,” said Mary Goodwin, CSCTFL’s Awards Chair. Goodwin continued: “We congratulate Rachel Parroquín as an advocate in her community for language learning, serving as a fine example of superior teaching and sharing her expertise with colleagues though quality professional development opportunities.”

About the Central States Conference on the Teaching of Foreign Languages: CSCTFL is the regional association for language professionals from all levels of instruction and representing all languages. CSCTFL promotes quality professional development opportunities to enhance teaching and learning languages especially within the fourteen states it serves:  Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin.

Contact: Mary Goodwin,